top of page

Pura Vida

Buenos Dias!

Happy spring - I love this time of year - warm weather for skiing, sunshine, and the promise of new beginnings. Just thought I'd touch base 2/3 of the way through my little rest/se-set/recovery period!

I set out for Costa Rica a day after my last update, and had an incredible time. It wasn't just a complete 180 from biathlon;

it was a complete 180 from anything I've ever done! Over the course of two weeks, I was lucky enough to experience the incredible wildlife and Pura Vida culture in the tiny village of Ostional; a wildlife reserve (on the Nicoya Peninsula, Guanacaste province - about 100km south of Tamarindo). I participated in early morning patrols, night patrols, nest excavations, and nest density digs, and even saw both hatchling turtles and an arribada - "an arrival" - when tens of thousands of mother turtles pour onto a small section of beach for 4 nights in a row. In other words, I got to experience every single possible role a volunteer with the program could undergo! I learned a lot about conservation and working together with a community and researchers to benefit both the wildlife and humans in a fragile area. The dry season weather was incredibly hot but the ocean was lovely; there were no tourists but lots of locals surfing. The turtles were absolutely fascinating and being up close and learning about both the mothers and hatchlings was eye opening. I stayed with a local family and experienced a bit of culture shock the first couple of days, but quickly picked up a bit of Spanish and loved that part of the experience too.

I have turtle stories and pictures out the wazoo, so if anyone ever wants to hear more, give me a shout. It was tough to pick just a few to attach to this email :) I was so busy working there I had no time to think about sport; I just enjoyed immersing myself in something new and walked the beach, swam in the waves, and ate as much fried plantain as I possibly could! I truly came back a "changed woman," according to my friend, and I'm looking forward to continuing tochannel the lessons I learned and sense of peace I found by the ocean in Ostional.

I returned to Canada refreshed, simply happy, and ready to ease back into some more "regular" things! I started back at work and coaching with Biathlon Ontario at Biathlon Nationals here in Canmore the first week I returned, as well as started some hormone therapy. Coaching was the perfect way to get back into the sport and enjoy some skiing again. I started biathlon in grade 12 with Biathlon Ontario, and it was so neat to see the athletes at the same age learning the same things I was. I even hopped in the mixed relay on the last day, and we brought home the silver medal - though racing when you're unfit and feeling wacky from progesterone hurts a LOT! Then I helped my current club, Rocky Mountain Racers, as well as my alumni club, Highlands Trailblazers, out a bit at XC Nationals here in Canmore. Again I hopped in a fun relay, a 2.5km ski cross event, and man did it bring back the fire to compete and push myself as hard as I possibly can! I know I'm doing better and the "spark" is coming back when I'm watching the 30km mass start, a brutally long race on a tough course, wishing I was participating, not being thankful I'm cheering!

Now I'm happy to announce I'm working my way through some big changes as spring approaches the rockies. Next week I am moving into a new place, a single unit condo, through one of my amazing sponsors, Windtower Lodge and Suites. I can't thank them enough for their generosity and continued support. The people working and living there are fantastic and I'm looking forward to joining the community - though of course I will miss my lovely little home here on 3rd Street! The Westcotts have provided me with the perfect place since I've moved toCanmore, and I also can't thank them enough for the past few years.

I am also excited to announce that I am starting a different part-time job. My time at Nutter's (the health food store here in Canmore) has been incredible and I learned so much the past few years as a Natural Product Advisor in the Vitamins department. I will truly miss my coworkers and friends there, as well as working within the natural health industry. However, a new opportunity to challenge myself and grow presented itself with the organization Fast and Female. I will be their Alberta Event Coordinator and National Media Coordinator...a position that will allow me to make my own work hours - other than days I am hosting actual events - and put my communication/organization/passion for sport abilities to good use! I am so excited to work with an organization that embodies exactly what I think sport is all about: following your passion, having fun, and feeling powerful. Check out the website to learn more: https://www.fastandfemale.com

Right now I'm easing into my new position, moving, and doing whatever fun training I feel like here in the rockies. Next I'm headed home to Ontario to visit family and friends April 13-30, as well as do a couple speaking engagements, including the "Evening of Connections Gala" on Saturday April 29 in Wingham, Ontario. The Gala is a dinner and auction in support of the purchase and installment of new playground equipment at the Maitland River Elementary School (a continuation of the new track project from last year - http://www.bb2f.com/new-page/). I can't wait to get some family time in and be home for Easter for the first time in four years!

Thank you all for reading, and all for your continued support as I venture onwards in this amazing journey. I think the biggest thing I have learned the past little while is the importance of balance, and making sure you live a "full-spectrum" life: really challenging yourself and expanding all sides of you...but not getting caught up or stressed about anything... because at the end of the day, we're all simply fighting to make it through the surf, towards the sun, just like the baby turtles. I've made some sacrifices along the way, but I wouldn't trade anything I've experienced and learned on this path. The Paulo Coelho quote I attached sums up how I'm feeling pretty well.

I'll touch base again in the late spring/summer, updating you on the first chunk of the training season! As usual, I can't wait for the excitement ahead.

Thank you - Pura Vida - live the "pure life"

Erin

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page