top of page

Make Life your Playground, not Proving Ground.

I hope this update finds you enjoying the sun (maybe not too much heat in the East) and lazy summer lake days.

It's been six weeks since I last updated you, so this will be a brief (for me!) one.

Last time we touched base, I was 13 weeks post shoulder surgery; incredibly happy with how the rehab was going; and training full-tilt already.

Now I'm 19 weeks and happy to report, all is still well. I was cleared by the surgeon to work into anything and everything I liked in training (as long as my physio was ok with it)...and took that statement and ran (pumping my arms hard) with it!

Thus, the strength training is going well - even doing some banded pull-ups and plyometrics already - and the aerobic work even better. My training time since early June has been spent roller skiing both techniques/shooting on the range/trail running/road riding/strength training down here in Canmore, and skiing on snow up at the Haig Glacier. I've been double poling quite a bit already, as well as doing some roller ski intensity on pavement, and the shoulder joint is taking it all in stride.

This is the time of year where we are starting to transition SLIGHTLY away from a volume and strength focus, and think a little more about intensity and speed...which makes me happy, as there's nothing like destroying yourself in a set of uphill intervals! We do prioritize a large volume of training hours on snow when we ski up on the glacier throughout the summer. Shooting has also been going well, with just yesterday setting a new personal best in a 200pt precision test of 177...and it was actually during a speed 1-shot setup drill; I wasn't every "trying" to shoot my tightest group...I guess natural alignment does indeed work 😉I'm so grateful for all my speedy RMR teammates, whose ski technique I learn from every day, and uplifting attitudes help channel my focus.

For my Ontario Friends, the Listowel Rifle and Revolver Club will again be hosting a shoot in my name on Saturday August 18th, from 9am-2pm. If you're in the area and feel like coming out and trying to shoot some biathlon targets with a .22 rifle, come on by - I'd love to catch up!

I cannot thank the LRRC, the Pinecrest Pistol Club, and Al Simmon's Gun Shop for continuing to support me in such a huge way.

Speaking of support, thank you so much to my other new and returning sponsors so far this year:

-Howick Mutual

-Glassier Physiotherapy

-TrailSports Canmore

-Windtower Lodge and Suites (a roof over my head!) ❤

-nutrition coaching by Georgie Fear

-skate rollerskis from Nordeex

-and others wishing to go unnamed

As well, I recently published a blog post (see previous post) that goes into greater depth on my return to biathlon post-surgery, and the greater healing I underwent. Some of you may have already seen it on social media. It is a pretty raw piece that finally tells the Truth of some of the mental demons I've been facing the past few years. If it resonates with you, feel free to share with any and all female athletes you may know. I apologize for not having the courage to share this truth until now, but am proud that I finally turned over this stone in my athletic career and look forward to building a legacy to help others avoid my mistakes.

All the best - enjoy every minute out there: jump in every cold lake you can; eat all the summer produce; dance -

Make life your playground, not proving ground.

Pura Vida

EY

PS:

Photos: Two that sum up life these days: training in my glorious mountains (rollerskis thanks to Nordeex - smoothest snow feel!) and in-between sessions, working for Fast and Female from the epic new Coworking Studio in Canmore, the Fusebox. (photo credits to Peter Collins Photography)

What I'm...

Listening to: see playlist below

Dancing to: anything J Balvin at my latin classes

Eating: power bowls (a grain, protein, tons of veggies, tons of tahini/avocado garlic sauce) and Giddy Yoyo banana spears during workouts.

Drinking: afternoon coffee at the Fusebox

Wearing: Oiselle tank + shorts from Backroads London

Reading: Let Your Mind Run (Deena Kastor)

Working on: This morning? Classic roller ski sprints with teammate Katie W. #shefast ...and power in everything.

Rocking at: one breath cycle in standing; one skate on snow at the glacier.

Missing: my family; summer backyard evening BBQs; Ontario strawberries.

My Playlist for the past 6 weeks (an eclectic mix of new and old):

-Like a Rock (Bob Seger)

-Iconic (Madonna)

-The River (Garth Brooks)

-Rollout (Ludacris)

-Make Way for the Living (Harry Manx)

-Genius (Sia)

-Never Going Back Again (Fleetwood Mac)

-Familiar (J Balvin)

-South London Forever (Florence and the Machine)

-She Ain't Gotta do Much (Classified)

-Bright Lights (Matchbox Twenty)

-Meant to Be (Bebe Rexha and Florida Georgia Line)

-Below My Feet (Mumford and Sons)

-ScheiBe (Lady Gaga)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page