top of page

April/May/June - You Want it All


Hello All-

Happy early summer! I can't believe it's almost the longest day of the year...last time I updated you, it was the very end of March and these mountains were still coated with snow and I was skiing daily.

I feel guilty at not having updated my friends, family, sponsors, and supporters sooner...but April, May, and now June have been some of the busiest but happiest weeks of my life. I'll make the summaries in this update as concise as I can to share all the love I had planned to - but know I'm healthier and in a better mental and physical state than I've ever been!

Training this spring has gone phenomenally well as I eased back in to full-time athlete life after 3 months easy...May was spent on the road bike, crust skiing up in Sunshine meadows, building strength, and running hard intervals around our little quarry lake "track" to finally build me some leg speed and power. I leave for the the first glacier skiing camp on June 27th and couldn't be more excited to combine real snow skiing with the rollerski work we've started on. We've also taken a whole new approach to the range- some radical stuff with my coach John, who had the most successful para-biathlon team on the range in the world last winter - so I think my sniping abilities will be incredibly fine-tuned come winter. I finally feel like I have this incredible focus while I'm training, in the zone and improving every session, but then I'm able to "turn off" and actually recover properly (and be a normal human being!) in between.

...Now for The Most Epic Things that have happened since I last touched base (trust me there's been a bunch):

-April 11th I filmed a segment with the CBC for Petro Canada (they gave me a generous grant!) that is being played in the lead-up to this winter's Olympics. I guess I get to the be the face of Biathlon Canada right now?! Brenda Irving and her crew flew from Toronto all the way here for just one day to put this piece together - we did it at my favourite place to train in the world, Mt Shark, way out in Kananaskis Country - and it focuses on myself and my coach John. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did and you can feel the passion and excitement! My title sponsors got some decent air time (Windtower, Buff, Al Simmon's Gun Ship, the LRRC and Pinecrest)... as well as Fast and Female :)

-I went home to Ontario for 2 weeks in April and had a blast, as well as gave a speech at the Building Bridges to our future Gala. Upon request I posted it on my blog, as well as a back-log of sponsor updates I've sent you guys over the past year or so. Scroll down on previous posts on this blog to check it out!

- I've been slowly working on my writing, through my actual work as well as my blog/etc. I made the Working Abroad Calendar (volunteer organization) with this photo and caption from my trip to CR ("Like" it!): https://www.facebook.com/WorkingAbroadProjects/photos/a.329662330454373.79768.329397653814174/1369179289836000/?type=3&theater

-My new work with Fast and Female has gone swimmingly as I move into my role as National Media Relations coordinator; it's challenging me and I'm loving all the connections I'm making! Attached are some pictures from the Girl's Run we hosted here in Canmore at the end of May (PC Jon Huyer Photography)...so much empowerment and inspiration for young girls!

-I was home for a short visit last week to celebrate my older sister Emily and her now husband Aaron! #EmandAa It was the most joyful, blissful, exciting visit home I've ever had and I feel so blessed to have been a part of their special day. The day was absolute perfection - I kid you not - and those vows...wow. Be prepared for far too many pictures recording the event 😊 Emily could not have been more beautiful and the ceremony/reception more full of love. Don't worry, my younger sister Madeline, my parents, and all our extended family lit up the dance floor. #jumparound

I also snuck in another lovely visit in with my dear friend and mentor Julie Sawchuk, at Glassier Physiotherapy in Wingham (one of my most loyal and encouraging sponsors!) and Julie even blogged about it and all the other bad-assery she undergoes daily - truly an inspiration when I "think" times are tough, and an incredible friend I can always rely on. Thank you. http://juliesawchuk.blogspot.ca/2017/06/you-must-crawl-before-you-walk.html?spref=fb

That's it for now! Thank you for your continued love and support. I hope you all have a safe, happy, healthy kickoff to your summer...and a belated Happy Mother's day to all the kind and generous moms, and an early Happy Father's Day to the strong loving dads this weekend.

"When you are enthusiastic about what you do, you feel this positive energy. It's very simple. " - Paulo Coehlo

Pura Vida

EY

ps. Saturday August 26th is the annual "Erin's Shoot" at the Listowel Rifle and Revolver Club in Listowel, Ontario...swing by if you can (9-3pm) to shoot some guns with one of my top sponsors!

What I'm ....

Listening to: London Grammar. Big Picture, Strong. (thanks Mads.) pump up - THUNDER imagine dragons!

Rapping: Jane Fond, Mickey Avalon, and Ass Like That, Eminem. Thanks to the dance floor at the wedding. (Thanks Twoods. Not.)

Eating: Skor McFlurry (caramel brownie is also insane), pancakes, and still smoothie bowls (it was my birthday - and not in that order)

Drinking: Oso Negro coffee with half and half, lime in that club soda

Wearing: SO. MUCH. TURTLE. Jewellery - my friends know me too well:) Oh and these awesome metallic temp tattoos. And my hairband Buff baby!

Reading: Paulo Coehlo (working through all his novels) and "Presence" for my non-fiction

Wishing I was better at: my body position and staying strong through the trunk in one skate, finding my focus faster on the range and in intensity, spanish flash cards

Rocking right now: track repeats at the quarry, shooting groups, finding flow on the single track

Missing: my family, the Ontario lakes for swimming after hot workouts, BBQing, Mennonite produce

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page